

CHAPTER - 20

STATE GOVERNMENT

Notes

- ➤ India has a total of 8 Union Territories and 28 states. The 8 Union territories of India include Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Puducherry, Chandigarh, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.
- ➤ Union Territories are special administrative sectors in the republic of India which operate directly under the central government.
- ➤ Unlike the states of India which have their own state governments, they do not have a government of their own and are controlled by central government (union government).
- > Out of the eight union territories in India, Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry) and J & K have their own legislatures. Each union territory has a capital of its own or the main area of administration.
- > In this chapter we will discuss the structures of a state government.
- ➤ All **state governments** are modeled after the federal **government** and consist of three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial.
- > State Legislature: The Legislature of every state consists of a governor and one house or two houses of legislatures.
- A state legislature that has two houses known as State Legislative Assembly and State Legislative Council (Vidhan Parishad), is a bicameral legislature. The Vidhan Sabha is the lower house and corresponds to the Lok Sabha, the VidhanParishad is the upper house and corresponds to the Rajya Sabha of Indian Parliament.
- > State Executive consists of Governor and Council of Ministers with Chief Minister as its head. The Governor of a State is appointed by the President for a term of five years and holds office during his pleasure.
- > State Judiciary: The High Court exists at the head head of the state's judicial administration. Usually every state has a High Court. Sometimes, two or more states

- may share a High Court. Every High courts has the power of superintendence over all subordinate courts within the state.
- > The provision of education, health, employment, housing, electricity, development of roads etc. are to be taken by the state government
- ➤ Health care facilities are of two categories. A) Public Health Service and B) Private Health Facilities.
- Public Health Service is a chain of health centers and hospitals run by the government.
 E.g RIMS, JNIMS, District Hospitals, Primary Health Centers etc.
- > Private Health Facilities are health centers and hospitals run by individuals, private firms or corporate bodies.

